

# **KIRWAN STATE HIGH SCHOOL**

## PROHIBITED ITEMS POLICY

The following items are strictly prohibited at Kirwan State High School:

- Aerosol deodorants or cans (e.g. including spray paint);
- Alcohol;
- Chewing Gum;
- Drugs (e.g. including illicit substances, tobacco, e-cigarettes, vapours);
- Drug paraphernalia;
- Explosives (e.g. fireworks, flares, sparklers);
- Flammable solids or liquids (e.g. matches, fire starters, mothballs, lighters);
- Illegal items, weapons or items that could be used as a weapon (e.g. gel blasters, guns, knives, throwing stars, brass knuckles, blades, ropes, tools);
- Inappropriate or offensive material (e.g. racist literature, pornography or extremist propaganda);
- Laser pointers;
- Liquid white out;
- Medication (Students are only permitted to have on their person medication that is part of a Health Plan that has been developed by the State Schools Nurse and approved by the Executive Principal. All other medications must be kept at the office.);
- Metal rulers;
- Odour generating products (e.g. stink bombs);
- Permanent markers;
- Poisons (e.g. weed killer, insecticides); and
- Water pistols, water bombs

The Prohibited Items Policy will be enacted in conjunction with Temporary Removal of Student Property Policy.

#### Consultation

The Kirwan State High School Prohibited Items Policy was developed in consultation with the school community, including:

- Teaching and non-teaching staff;
- Student Representative Council;
- Parents and Citizens (P&C); and
- Student Council.

#### Review

The Kirwan State High School Prohibited Items Policy will undergo annual minor updates to reflect changes circumstances, data and staff.

A fulsome review is conducted in line with the scheduled review process for the School Planning, Reviewing and Reporting Cycle.

### Endorsement

The Kirwan State High School Prohibited Items Policy has been informed by:

- Department of Education; and
- Kirwan State High School Student Code of Conduct.

Endorsed by:

Bella Untrichen

Rick Phinea

Rick Phineasa School Council Chair

Heather Murry Executive Principal Bella van Krieken School Captain Yohann Abordo School Captain

JJ Tavlor P&C President